Amy Sackville: Painter to the King @ Golden Hare Books, Edinburgh [16 May]

Amy Sackville: Painter to the King


10
16
May
18:30 - 20:00

 Facebook event page
Golden Hare Books
68 St Stephen Street, EH3 5AQ Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Join us at Golden Hare Books to explore the masterful third novel from phenomenal novelist Amy Sackville, who won the John Llewellyn Rhys and Somerset Maugham prizes and was longlisted for the Orange Prize
Painter to the King is a portrait of Diego Velázquez, from his arrival at the court of King Philip IV of Spain, to his death 38 years and scores of paintings later. It is a portrait of a relationship that is not quite a friendship, between an artist and his subject. It is a portrait of a ruler, always on duty, and increasingly burdened by a life of public expectation and repeated private grief. It is a portrait of a court collapsing under the weight of its own excess.
In the vein of Possession, Wolf Hall… and Golden Hill, the hotly anticipated new novel from Amy Sackville combines the historical with a modern sensibility and philosophical insight. Unfolding through series of masterly set pieces and deft sketches, this is a novel of brilliance, imagination and sheer style – the reader will feel as though she has stepped right into the paintings themselves, and then, from a distance, will see them anew.
‘Amy Sackville has been known for the exquisite quality of her prose. With her third novel, she has tried something different, something more audacious, perhaps, and proves more than equal to the challenge. A work of great subtlety and sophistication’ Rupert Thomson
Amy Sackville was born in Plymouth in 1981. She has degrees from Leeds, Exeter College, Oxford, and Goldsmiths. Her first novel The Still Point was longlisted for the Orange Prize and won the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize and her second, Orkney, won the Somerset Maugham Award. She lives in London.
Discussion
image
Only registered users may comment.
Pass a quick registration or authorization.

Upcoming events @ Golden Hare Books:

Charco Press present Fish Soup by Margarita García Robayo
Golden Hare Books
Dan Toombs presents The Curry Guy Easy
Golden Hare Books
Masterclass with Claire Askew: Poetry Writing
Golden Hare Books
Great British Gardeners with Vanessa Berridge
Golden Hare Books

The most anticipated events in Edinburgh :

The Carnival Of Light Edinburgh - Last 400 Tickets
Usher Hall
Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2018
Edinburgh Festival Fringe
Let's Rock Scotland
Dalkeith Country Park
The Scottish Car Show 2018
Royal Highland Centre
Paloma Faith | Edinburgh Summer Sessions
Princes Street Gardens
Edinburgh Rum and Reggae Festival - On Sale Now!
Edinburgh Corn Exchange
The Rolling Stones No Filter Tour - BT Murrayfield Stadium
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Meadows Festival 2018
The Meadows
Kasabian | Edinburgh Summer Sessions
Princes Street Gardens
Dunfermline Fake Festival 2018
The most popular events in your news feed!